2015 About

 The generation of electricity via wind has grown rapidly, in Europe, in North America, and now worldwide with China having the largest amount of installed capacity of any country in the world.  Despite the success of the wind energy industry to date, many challenges still exist including reliability, overall wind farm performance, and offshore wind to name just a few.  The International Conferences on Future Technologies in Wind Energy focus on addressing those technology developments necessary for wind turbines and wind farms to continue improving.

WindTech2015, the 2nd International Conference on Future Technologies in Wind Energy, is hosted by WindEEE Research Institute at Western University. WindTech2015 specifically targets testing procedures (field and controlled conditions) and related instrumentation.  Abstracts concerning field and wind tunnel/laboratory experimental methods, instrumentation, and the use of measurements for validation are particularly encouraged.

Conference Organizers

Prof. Horia Hangan  /  WindEEE Research Institute, Western University

Prof. Jonathan Naughton  /  Wind Energy Research Center, University of Wyoming

Prof. Rebecca J. Barthelmie  /  Sibley School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Cornell University

Prof. Jakob Mann  /  Department of Wind Energy, Danish Technical University

International Advisory Board
  • Yves Gagnon (Moncton University, Canada)
  • Charlotte Bay Hasager (DTU Wind Energy, Denmark)
  • Sue Haupt (NCAR, US)
  • Stephane Ivanell (Uppsala University, Sweden)
  • David Johnson (University of Waterloo, Canada)
  • Hyun-Goo Kim, (Korea Institute of Energy Research, Korea)
  • Philippe Lavoie (UTIAS, Canada)
  • Julie Lundquist (University of Colorado and NREL, USA)
  • Wayne Miller (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA)
  • Kamran Siddiqui (Western University, Canada)
  • Sri Sritharan (Iowa State University, USA)
  • Case van Dam (UC Davis, California, USA)
  • Rajiv Varma (Western University, Canada)
  • Paul Veers (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Ed White (Texas A&M, USA)